Exchange Server 365

Back

 

A so-called impersonation user must be created for Exchange Server 365 and assigned rights (role).
(Impersonation is the way to grant an application the right to work as if it were logged in as a user. This requirement applies to ERP / CRM systems, archive products, and many other things that are supposed to do something on behalf of the user. In our case reading the calendar status of the users).

 

As a rule, of course, an application does not have a user’s access data. But even if you grant a service account all the rights that the user has, it is still not the same to access information with the service account. A simple example: If you create a new object, it not only gets the permissions of the object above it. But it also gets an “owner”. Even if a service account has the right to create an element in a folder or mailbox, the user is not the “owner” but the service account is entered as the “creator”. At least for access via a “Full Access” right.

It is, therefore, better if a process can pretend to be “a user”. This is exactly what is possible with the “impersonation law”.

In order to create the administrator role and assign it to the user, you have to log in to the Microsoft 365 admin center in the Exchange admin center. You need admin rights to configure the Exchange Admin Center.

Once in the Exchange Admin Center, a new administrator role is created in the “Permissions” tab.

Enter any name in the administrator role, in our example “sys-collection exchange service”. Then select the role “ApplicationImpersonation” and enter the user who should have the right.

This user is entered in the sys-Collection Management Exchange Server and the password is stored.

Exchange Server 365

Zurück

Für den Exchange Server 365 muss ein sogenannter Impersonation User angelegt und mit Rechten (Rolle) versehen werden.
(Impersonation ist der Weg, einer Applikation des Recht einzuräumen so zu arbeiten, als wäre sie als Benutzer angemeldet. Diese Anforderung gibt es für ERP/CRM-Systeme, Archiv-Produkte und viele anderen Dinge, die stellvertretend für den Anwender etwas tun sollen. In unserem Falle das auslesen des Kalender Status der Benutzer).

In der Regel hat eine Applikation natürlich nicht die Zugangsdaten eines Benutzers. Aber selbst wenn Sie einem Dienstkonto alle Rechte einräumen, die auch der Anwender hat, ist es trotzdem nicht das gleiche mit dem Dienstkonto auf Informationen zuzugreifen. Ein einfaches Beispiel: Wenn Sie ein Objekt neu anlegen, bekommt es nicht nur die Berechtigungen des darüber liegenden Objekts. Es bekommt aber auch einen “Besitzer”. Auch wenn ein Dienstkonto das Recht hat in einem Ordner oder Postfach ein Element anzulegen, dann ist nicht der Benutzer selbst der “Besitzer” sondern eben das Dienstkonto wird als “Creator” eingetragen. Zumindest bei Zugriffen über ein “Full Access”-Recht.

Besser ist es daher, wenn ein Prozess sich “als Benutzer” ausgeben kann. Genau das ist mit dem “Impersonation-Recht” möglich.

Um die Administratorrolle anzulegen und dem Benutzer zuzuweisen müssen Sie sich im Exchange Admin Center im Microsoft 365 Admin Center anmelden.
Sie benötigen für die Kofiguration des Exchange Admin Center Admin Rechte.

Im Exchange Admin Center angekommen wird im Reiter “Berechtigungen” eine neue Administratorrolle angelegt.

In der Administratorrolle ein beliebiber Name hinterlegen, in unserem Beilspiel “sys-collection exchange service”. Danach die Rolle “ApplicationImpersonation” auswählen und den Benutzer, der das Recht haben soll mit eintragen.

Dieser Benutzer wird im sys-Collection Management Excange Server eingetragen und das Passwort hinterlegt.